January 30th, 2014 by admin
Authorities in Oregon are arguing that even if you are under the legal limit, you might still be a danger to other drivers, and might be guilty of a DUII. Si Xuan Vo was driving erratically last July, repeatedly swerving in to the oncoming lane. He failed field sobriety tests “miserably,” according to police. He even answered his cell phone three times during the tests, something police had never seen happen before. Vo took a breath test and registered a .07% blood alcohol content, just under the legal limit.
Vo hired an attorney, prepared to fight the DUII charge. After a two-day trial last month the jury unanimously decided that Vo was a danger to the roadways and convicted him of a DUII. While many states, like Oregon, have set .08 as the point where a driver is considered intoxicated, it doesn’t account for alcohol affecting every person differently. Prosecutors in other counties are looking at pursuing convictions against “low-blows” in their counties as well.
Remember this the next time you think about drinking and driving, just because you don’t have a high BAC, doesn’t mean you are able to make sound and safe decisions on the road.
December 2nd, 2013 by admin
Oregon police are planning to crackdown on drunk driving this holiday season. Their hope is that a significant rise in visible police patrols will deter people from drinking and driving. Beginning December 1st and running through the new year, police will be in heavier rotation for DUII patrols. We always encourage you to be careful, and not drive if you’ve been drinking. This time of year it’s especially important because no one wants a DUII for the holidays.
September 4th, 2013 by admin
A woman from Eugene was arrested twice for DUII – twice in ONE day. At around 12:30 PM police were tipped off about a drunk driver, and was able to give the police the license plate number. Officers found the drunk driver, 36-year-old Jami M. Ferguson, at her home where she admitted to driving with her husband and children in the car. Ferguson was arrested, and released a few hours later because of overcrowding. Her BAC was twice the legal limit. That evening, at around 7:30PM, she was spotted driving again and arrested for her second DUII of the day. Legally, if you are arrested for a DUII you are not permitted to drive again for at least 12 hours.
December 20th, 2011 by admin
If you have been arrested for a Portland DUI and are required to install an ignition interlock, there is no time to wait. If you get pulled over again and the officer sees that you haven’t installed an IID, you can get in a lot of trouble that can include losing your license or paying heavy fines.
Don’t let these terrible consequences happen to you. Install an ignition interlock today. If you are located in Portland, remember that there is a Smart Start of Oregon location at the Sound Choice Inc on Powell Blvd and Eastside Automotive Solutions on 80th St. Click here to get directions and make an appointment today!